Skip navigation

The International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts is pleased to announce the 2020 award winners.

The Crawford Award: Tamsyn Muir, Gideon the Ninth (

The Jamie Bishop Memorial Award: Valentina Gosetti and E.J. Kent, “Maribas et la sorcellerie masculine” [“Marinas and Male Witchcraft”]

The Walter James Miller Memorial Award: Brittany Roberts Brittany Roberts, ”The Soviet Anthropocene: Desiccation, Desertification, and Environmental Horror in Dmitri Svetozarov’s *Dogs*”

The Imagining Indigenous Futurism Award: Julia A. Thompsan , “White Hope”

The David G. Hartwell Emerging Scholar Award: Filip Boratyn “Magic(s) of the Anthropocene: Enchantment vs. Terroir in Jeff VanderMeer’s Southern Reach.”

Dell Magazines Award: Rona Wang, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, “Imitation Game”

Lord Ruthven Awards

Vampire Non-Fiction: Sorcha Ní Fhlainn for Post-Modern Vampires: Film, Fiction and Popular Culture

Fiction: Bryan D. Dietrich and Marge Simon for The Demeter Diaries

Media: TV series What We Do in the Shadows