The Dell Magazines Award

International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts

The $500 award will go to the best unpublished and unsold science fiction or fantasy short story submitted by a full-time undergraduate college student. The winner will be invited to the IAFA annual Conference on the Fantastic in mid-March in Orlando, FL, and the winning story will be considered for publication in Asimov’s science fiction magazine. For information on this award, visit the Dell Award Site. (This award was formerly known as the Isaac Asimov Award.)

Arthur Davis 2018 “Happy? Sad?”
Taimur Ahmad 2017 “Noor”
Rani Banjarian 2016 “Lullabies in Arabic”
Kayla Chronister 2015 “How the Blood Spills”
Rich Larson 2014 “Nostalgia Calculator”
Lara Donnelly 2013 “To the Dogs”
Rebekah Baldridge 2012 “Superposition”
Seth Dickinson 2011 “The Immaculate Conception of Private Ritter”
Rachel Sobel 2010 “The Dead Star, the Satirist, and the Soldier”
Josh Eure 2009 “We Were Real”
Stephen Leech 2008 “Blank, White and Blue”
Natty Bokenkamp 2007 “The Uncanny Valley”
Meghan Sinoff 2006 “Shift”
Anthony Ha 2005 “Around the World”
Anthony Ha 2004 “Orbiting”
Bryn Neuenschwander 2003 “Calling into Science”
Lena DeTar 2002 “Making Waves”
Mark Jacobsen 2001 “Conquering Europa”
Beth Adele Long 2000 “Repeating Patterns”
Marissa Lingen 1999 “In the Gardens and the Graves”
Emily Thornbury 1998 “The Wormholes”
David Kirtley 1997 “Lest we Forget”
Dylan Otto Krider 1996 “He Believed in Probability”
Shannon Fowler 1995 “The Cinderella Project”
Eric Choi 1994 “Dedication”