Skip navigation

Author Archives: Technical Officer

Conference acceptance letters were sent out on or before November 17th, 2013.  If you have not heard anything yet, please check your spam filter, then contact the appropriate Division Head. Thank you.

Farah Mendlesohn and Michael Smith independently tabulated the ballots cast and reported their agreed conclusions to the Executive Board.  The Board had ratified the results.

  • President: Sydney Duncan
  • 1st Vice-president: Dale Knickerbocker
  • 2nd Vice-president: Karen Burnham
  • Public Information Officer: Stacie Hanes

Eighty-eight ballots were cast.

We congratulate the new officers and thank everyone who offered their service!

Neil Gaiman spoke to the graduates of the colleges of Art, Media and Design and Performing Arts at the University of the Arts in Philadelphia.  It was his first ever such address. According to a press release from the university, it “has been tweeted thousands of times, viewed in 146 countries, translated into eight languages, interpreted in illustration and is being called the best commencement speech of 2012.”

A video is available through TED-Ed:

A link to Bill Clemente’s conference blog has been added to the ICFA 33 page of the website.

We’re still looking for volunteers to assist in making this year’s conference a success. Please complete the volunteer survey and we’ll be in touch:

The IAFA board has published a draft program for ICFA 2011 on the conference information page

Karen Lord has been named the winner of this year’s William L. Crawford Award for her first novel Redemption in Indigo (Small Beer Press). The award, presented annually at the International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts, is designated for a new writer whose first fantasy book appeared the previous year. This year’s conference will be March 16-20 in Orlando, FL.

The nominators for this year’s award also shortlisted Lauren Beukes’s Zoo City, N.K. Jemisin’s The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, and Anna Kendall’s Crossing Over, and wanted to commend two other novels, Robert Jackson Bennett’s Mr. Shivers and Amelia Beamer’s The Loving Dead, the latter of which was viewed by some nominators as centrally a science fiction work. Science fiction is excluded under the terms established by the award’s founding sponsor, Andre Norton.

Those participating, in varying degrees, in this year’s nomination and selection process included Niall Harrison, Cheryl Morgan, Graham Sleight, Paul Witcover, John Clute, Jonathan Strahan, Liza Trombi, Farah Mendlesohn, Ellen Klages, and Kelly Link (who, as publisher of Small Beer Press, recused herself from final voting).

The website of the IAFA is now hosted at High Point University in High Point, North Carolina.  We have carried over all the content from the old site but the new site has a different look because we are using WordPress to make it easier to maintain.

Subscribe to the RSS feed to receive news from this site concerning the business of the IAFA!