Skip navigation


2018 IAFA Crawford Award and Shortlist Announced

The winner of the 2018 Crawford Award, presented annually by the International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts for a first book of fantasy, is Carmen Maria Machado for the story collection Her Body and Other Parties (Graywolf Press).

The other finalists on this year’s Crawford shortlist are S .A. Chakraborty, City of Brass (Harper Voyager); Ruthanna Emrys, Winter Tide (, Sam J. Miller, The Art of Starving (HarperTeen), K. Arsenault Rivera, The Tiger’s Daughter (Tor), and Sandra Unerman, Spellhaven (Mirror World).

Participating at various stages of this year’s nomination and selection process were previous Crawford winners Jedediah Berry, Daryl Gregory, and Candas Jane Dorsey, as well as Liz Bourke, Cheryl Morgan, Farah Mendlesohn, Graham Sleight, Ellen Klages, and Liza Groen Trombi. The award will be presented at a banquet on on March 17 during the 39th International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts in Orlando, Florida.

Also at the banquet, the IAFA’s Distinguished Scholarship Award will be presented to the conference’s guest scholar, Fred Botting. The Jamie Bishop Memorial Award for a work of scholarship written in a language other than English will be presented to Guangyi Li, and the Walter James Miller Memorial Award, for a student paper on a work or works of the fantastic originally created in a language other than English, to Peter Adrian Behravesh. The winner of IAFA’s award for an outstanding student paper, formerly called the Graduate Student Award but rechristened in 2016 as the David G. Hartwell Emerging Scholar Award, will be announced at the banquet.

The International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts, or ICFA, is held annually in Orlando, Florida. This year’s conference, March 14-18, will celebrate the 200th anniversary of the publication of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, with author guests of honor John Kessel and Nike Sulway.