Skip navigation

The finalists for this year’s Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award (honoring the best short science fiction or fantasy story published in 2011) and John W. Campbell Memorial Award (honoring the best science fiction novel of 2011) have just been announced.

2012 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award Nominees

  • “Six Months, Three Days” by Charlie Jane Anders (, June)
  • “The Copenhagen Interpretation” by Paul Cornell (Asimov’s Science Fiction, July)
  • “Ghostweight” by Yoon Ha Lee (Clarkesworld, January)
  • “The Old Equations” by Jake Kerr (Lightspeed, July)
  • “The Man Who Ended History: A Documentary” by Ken Liu (Panverse Three)
  • “The Paper Menagerie” by Ken Liu (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, March/April)
  • “The Choice” by Paul McAuley (Asimov’s, December/January)
  • “Silently and Very Fast” by Catherynne M. Valente (Clarkesworld, October)

Also nominated: “The Man Who Bridged the Mist” by Kij Johnson, but the author, who is also a juror, removed her story from consideration.

2012 John W. Campbell Memorial Award Nominees

  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (published by Crown/Random House)
  • This Shared Dream by Kathleen Ann Goonan (Tor)
  • Soft Apocalypse by Will McIntosh (Night Shade)
  • Embassytown by China Miéville (Ballantine/Del Rey)
  • The Islanders by Christopher Priest (Gollancz)
  • The Highest Frontier by Joan Slonczewski (Tor)
  • Dancing with Bears by Michael Swanwick (Night Shade)
  • Osama by Lavie Tidhar (PS Publishing)
  • Robopocalypse by Daniel H. Wilson (Simon & Schuster)
  • Home Fires by Gene Wolfe (Tor)
  • Seed by Rob Ziegler (Night Shade)

The Awards will be presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet. This year’s Campbell Conference will be held 5-8 July, as always, at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.