Skip navigation

The 30th International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts
Time and the Fantastic — Update

The 30th International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts will be held March 18-22, 2009, at the Orlando Airport Marriott in Orlando, Florida. The conference begins at 3 pm on Wednesday and ends at 1 am on Sunday upon the conclusion of the conference banquet. Malcolm J. Edwards and Brian Stableford write that “the metaphysics of time continues to intrigue writers inside and outside the genre” of the fantastic; thus, the focus of ICFA-30 is on the intriguing relationships between time and the fantastic. Papers are invited to explore this topic in science fiction, fantasy, horror, and other related modes of the fantastic. In addition, we especially look forward to papers on the work of our honored guests:

Guest of Honor: Guy Gavriel Kay, Aurora Award-winning, Caspar Award-winning, and Mythopoeic Fantasy Award-nominated author of the Fionavar Tapestry (The Summer Tree, The Wandering Fire, The Darkest Road), Tigana, A Song for Arbonne, and The Last Light of the Sun

Guest of Honor: Robert Charles Wilson, Hugo Award-winning author of Axis, Spin, The Chronoliths, Darwinia, Mysterium, and A Bridge of Years

Guest Scholar: Maria Nikolajeva, author of The Aesthetic Approach to Children’s Literature (Scarecrow), The Rhetoric of Children’s Literature (Scarecrow), and From Mythic to Linear: Time in Children’s Literature (Scarecrow)

As always, we also welcome proposals for individual papers and for academic sessions and panels on any aspect of the fantastic in any media. The deadline is October 31, 2008.

We encourage work from institutionally-affiliated scholars, independent scholars, international scholars who work in languages other than English, graduate students, and undergraduate students.

The Jamie Bishop Memorial Award for an Essay Not in English is open to all members of the IAFA. The IAFA Graduate Student Award is open to all graduate students presenting papers at the year’s conference. Details are available via Robin Reid, Second Vice-President ( Finally, the Dell Magazines Undergraduate Science Fiction Award will also be handed out at this year’s conference.

Visit for more details, including the specific div. heads and their respective areas.

IAFA Division Heads

Fantastic Literature in English (FE)
Stefan Ekman
Lund University

Horror Literature (H)
Stephanie Moss
University of South Florida

International Fantastic Literatures (IF)
Dale Knickerbocker
East Carolina University

Science Fiction Literature and Theory(SF)
Sherryl Vint
Brock University

The Fantastic in Visual & Performing Arts (VPA)
Stefan Hall
Defiance College

Communities & Culture in the Fantastic (CC)
Barbara Lucas
Lakeland Community College

The Fantastic in Film and Media (FFM)
Susan A. George

The Fantastic in Children’s & Young Adult Literature & Art (CYA)
Amie Rose Rotruck
Hollins University