Skip navigation

The International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts Announces its

****The Jamie Bishop Memorial Award for an Essay Not in English***
(Formerly the Annual Award for the Best Non-English Language Scholarly Essay on the Fantastic)

We define the fantastic to include science fiction, folklore, and related genres in literature, drama, film, art and graphic design, and related disciplines.

Prize: $250 U.S. and one year’s free membership in the IAFA to be awarded at the International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts in March 2008. Winning essay to be published online at the IAFA website.

Deadline: October 31, 2007

We consider essays of up to 10,000 words (including notes and bibliography). Essays may be unpublished scholarship submitted by the author, or already published work nominated either by the author or another scholar (in which case the author’s permission should be obtained before submission). An abstract in English must accompany all submissions. Submissions may be made electronically (preferred) in MS Word, Word Perfect, or RTF format, or by mail.

Please direct all inquiries and submissions to:

Dale Knickerbocker
Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures East Carolina University Greenville, NC 27858 USA
Fax: 252-328-6233