Skip navigation

Robert A. Collins Service Award

The Board of the International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts is pleased to announce the 2008 recipients of two Robert A. Collins Awards.

To Katy Hatfield for her service as Membership and Registration Coordinator for numerous ICFAs. As the “face” of the IAFA and the first person members often met at ICFA, Katy was instrumental in representing the Board, maintaining the registration lists, and using her quick problem-solving skills to settle unexpected conference problems and fielding members’ questions and concerns.

To Len Hatfield, for his service to the IAFA and ICFA as President, Vice-President, Science Fiction Literature and Theory Division Head, Audio-Visual Support, and Head Tech Gnome. Len’s expertise has been instrumental in updating and servicing technology at ICFA, establishing and maintaining the IAFA website and listserv, and recruiting new members to the Board.

Each award is for 2008 but the recipients will be recognized at the 2009 banquet at ICFA-30. Congratulations to the two of them for their individual honours.

The Robert A. Collins Service Award, named after the conference’s founder (who was also its first recipient in 1985) is an occasional award presented to an officer, board member, or division head for outstanding service to the organization.