The International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts

A number of awards for scholarship and fiction writing are presented under the aegis of the IAFA. They are listed in order of when they were first awarded at the annual conference.


The IAFA Distinguished Scholarship Award
The IAFA Distinguished Scholarship Award is an annual career award, presented annually since 1986, recognizing distinguished contributions to the scholarship and criticism of the fantastic.

See a list of past Scholarship award winners!


The IAFA William L. Crawford Fantasy Award
The IAFA Crawford Award each year recognizes an outstanding new writer whose first fantasy book was published during the previous calendar year. It is not specifically a first novel award. The award was established with the support of the late Andre Norton, who also helped establish the criteria and who continued to support the award over the years.

See a list of past Crawford award winners!


Robert A. Collins Service Award
The Robert A. Collins Service Award, named after the conference’s founder (who was also its first recipient in 1985) is a special award presented to an officer, board member, or division head for outstanding service to the organization.

See a list of past Collins award winners!


Stephen R. Donaldson Award
The Stephen R. Donaldson Award, presented only four times since its inception in 1997, is a special award recognizing exceptional support and service to the organization from individuals who have not served as officers, board members, or division heads.

See a list of past Donaldson award winners!


David G. Hartwell Emerging Scholar Award
The International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts presents an annual award and stipend to the graduate student submitting the most outstanding paper at the Association’s conference. The award, and a check for $250, will be presented to the winner at the Awards Banquet on Saturday evening. Students must submit their completed paper (3500 words, excluding bibliography) and verification of student status by the deadline. Originally named the Graduate Student Award, the award was renamed in 2016 to honor the late David. G. Hartwell.

See a list of past IAFA Graduate Student award winners!


Jamie Bishop Memorial Award for an Essay Not in English
Prize: $250 U.S. and one year’s free membership in the IAFA to be awarded at the International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts each March.

Click here for submission information and a list of award winners.


Dell Magazines Award (formerly the Isaac Asimov Award)
The $500 award will go to the best unpublished and unsold science fiction or fantasy short story submitted by a full-time undergraduate college student. The winner will be invited to the IAFA annual Conference on the Fantastic in mid-March in Orlando, FL, and the winning story will be considered for publication in Asimov’s science fiction magazine.

See a list of past Dell / Asimov award winners!