Skip navigation

2017 Crawford Award Announced

The winner of the 2017 Crawford Award, presented annually by the International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts for a first book of fantasy, is Charlie Jane Anders for All the Birds in the Sky (Tor). One judge cited the novel’s “humor, the light touch, the swiftness with which the narrative unspools.”

The other books included on this year’s Crawford shortlist include Maria Turtschaninoff’s novel Maresi (Pushkin/Abrams), Rose Lemberg’s poetry collection Marginalia to Stone Bird (Aqueduct), and Michael Wehunt’s story collection Greener Pastures (Shock Totem).
Participating at various stages of this year’s nomination and selection process were previous Crawford winners Jedediah Berry, Daryl Gregory, and Candas Jane Dorsey, as well as Cheryl Morgan, Niall Harrison, Farah Mendlesohn, Ellen Klages, Graham Sleight, Karen Burnham, and Liza Groen Trombi. The award will be presented on March 19 during the 38th International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts in Orlando, Florida.

Also at the conference, the IAFA’s Distinguished Scholarship Award will be presented to Edward James, and the Jamie Bishop Memorial Award for a work of scholarship written in a language other than English will go to David Dalton. The Walter James Miller Memorial Award, for a student paper on a work or works of the fantastic originally created in a language other than English, will be presented to Ida Yoshinaga.