Skip navigation

Reposted from the Gemmell Award website:

This year’s David Gemmell Awards For Fantasy were presented on June 15, 2012 in a ceremony held at London’s Magic Circle headquarters.

The winners were:
Ravenheart Award (best cover art): Raymond Swanland – Blood of Aenarion
Morningstar Award (best debut): Helen Lowe – Heir of Night
Legend Award (best novel): Patrick Rothfuss – The Wiseman’s Fear

For further details, or to request photos of the ceremony, please reply to or

2013: The Gemmell Awards and World Fantasy Convention

We were also pleased to announce this evening that next year’s Gemmell Awards ceremony will take place as part of 2013’s World Fantasy Convention.

The convention takes place in Brighton, UK between 31st October and
3rd November.  The only other times that the World Fantasy Convention has moved outside North America was in 1988 and 1997, when it was staged in London, so we feel privileged to be a part of this prestigious international event.

Held at Brighton’s Metropole Hotel and the West Pier, WFC 2013 boasts an impressive line-up of honoured guests, including Richard Matheson, Richard Christian Matheson, Brian Aldiss, Alan Lee and Tessa Farmer.  The Master of Ceremonies is China Mieville; and a host of other authors, artists, publishers and industry insiders will also be attending.

For full details of the convention visit the official website at

We hope to see as many of our regular attendees and supporters as possible at WFC 2013.

As the Gemmell Awards will be presented in October/November next year, and not in mid-June as usual, we’ll be altering our voting cycle to accommodate the change of date.  To keep abreast of the changes check the awards website – – where you can sign-up for our free newsletter.  The change of venue and date is for one year only – 2014 will see the awards returning to the Magic Circle.

Gemmell Award logo