Skip navigation

Genevieve Valentine has been named winner of the 2012 William L. Crawford Fantasy Award for her novel Mechanique, published by Prime Books in 2011.

The award, which includes a cash prize, is presented annually at the International Conference for the Fantastic in the Arts, is designated for an exceptionally promising writer whose first fantasy book was published the preceding year.  Prior winners include Jonathan Lethem, Charles de Lint, Greer Gilman, Judith Tarr,  Kij Johnson, Joe Hill, M. Rickert, Daryl Gregory, Christopher Barzak, Jedediah Berry and, last year, Karen Lord.

The nominators for this year’s award also shortlisted Erin Morgenstern for The Night Circus, Tea Obreht for The Tiger’s Wife,  Stina Leicht for Of Blood and Honey, and Ransom Riggs for Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.  Those participating in the selection included Stacie Hanes, Niall Harrison, Ellen Klages, Kelly Link, Cheryl Morgan, Graham Sleight, and Paul Witcover.

The 2012 International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts will take place March 21-25 in Orlando, FL.  Further details are at

Leave a Reply