The IAFA William L. Crawford Fantasy Award

The International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts

William L. Crawford (1911–1984) was an American publisher and editor who produced the first full-size book issued by a publisher that specialized in science fiction. Mars Mountain, published in 1935, is a collection of science fiction short stories by Eugene George Key. Crawford created several publishing companies, including the Fantasy Publishing Company (FPCI), and edited several magazine series including Spaceway, Fantasy Book and Marvel Tales.

The IAFA Crawford Award each year recognizes an outstanding new writer whose first fantasy book was published during the previous calendar year. It is not specifically a first novel award. The award was established with the support of the late Andre Norton, who also helped establish the criteria and who continued to support the award over the years.

R.F Kuang 2019 The Poppy War
Carmen Maria Machado 2018 Her Body and Other Parties
Charlie Jane Anders 2017 All the Birds in the Sky
Kai Ashante Wilson 2016 The Sorcerer of the Wildeeps
Stephanie Feldman 2015 The Angel of Losses
Sofia Samatar 2014 A Stranger in Olandria
Karin Tidbeck 2013 Jagganath
Genevieve Valentine 2012 Mechanique
Karen Lord 2011 Redemption in Indigo
Jedediah Berry 2010 The Manual of Detection
Daryl Gregory 2009 Pandemonium
Christopher Barzak 2008 One for Sorrow
Mary Rickert 2007 Map of Dreams
Joe Hill 2006 Twentieth Century Ghosts
Steph Swainston 2005 The Year of Our War
K. J. Bishop 2004 The Etched City
Alexander C. Irvine 2003 A Scattering of Jades
Jasper Fforde 2002 The Eyre Affair
Kij Johnson 2001 The Fox Woman
Anne Bishop 2000 Black Jewels trilogy
David B. Coe 1999 Lon Tobyn Chronicles
Chitra Bannerjee Divakaruni 1998 Mistress of Spices
Candas Jane Dorsey 1997 Black Wine
Sharon Shinn 1996 Archangel
Jonathan Lethem 1995 Gun,With Occasional Music
Judith Katz 1994 Running Fiercely Toward a High Thin Sound
Susan Palwick 1993 Flying in Place
Greer Gilman 1992 Moonwise
Michael Scott Rohan 1991 Winter of the World trilogy
Jeanne Larsen 1990 The Silk Road
Michaela Roessner 1989 Walkabout Woman
Elizabeth Marshall Thomas 1988 Reindeer Moon
Judith Tarr 1987 The Hound and the Falcon trilogy
Nancy Willard 1986 Things Invisible to See
Charles de Lint 1985 Moonheart
Willard 2nd Crawford award

Nancy Willard, recipient of 2nd Crawford Award